7 Tips on how to get motivated and feel unstuck & feel your best in 2021


Do you feel like your world is becoming sluggish? Do you think you need extra motivation, and becoming dry in your personality and/or character?
Are you wanting more self/personal development happening in your life?
feeling demotivated? inactive? Flat? Lifeless? Slack?

All these things mean you could be coming stagnant. I don’t know about you, but I have been lately, and it is something that I don’t want, or even need!

I thought I would write Seven tips on how to get motivated and feel your best.

Here is 7 tips to get yourself motivated daily or weekly to perform your best.

Let’s start with productivity.

1. Clean up your desk space. 

Bring out your pretty stationary, stapler, paper clips etc and maybe buy a print on Etsy and frame that would be a nice decoration on your writing desk. Wipe your computer screen. Clean your keyboard. Clean your laptop. Change your desktop wallpaper to something pretty. Get a small vase and some fake flowers and put it beside your computer. Organise your papers and pens and put them in their proper place. E.G. pen holder, paper trays etc.

2. Read a motivational book. 

I could list a NUMBER of books that could help in this arena. 

Read something like an inspiring story. I bought “Seize the day” by Joyce Meyer and it was something that I badly wanted to get because it was to do with purpose. When I felt I was becoming stagnant I realised it’s because I don’t have much purpose. And that’s what I need. 

Here is a list of books to get you motivated:

Think like a monk

Girl, stop apologising – Rachel Hollis

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance – Angela Duckworth

Key to Success: How to Be Successful and the Habits of Successful People

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck – Mark Manson

You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life – Jen Sincero

Big Magic: How to Live a Creative Life, and Let Go of Your Fear – Elizabeth Gilbert

Reading motivational books is so fulfilling and rewarding for your mind and general health and wealth. It abundantly gives you gems and sparks of words that appeal to the brain when reading. When I see a quote that pops out at me, I always have to share it on my Instagram Exquisite Emmalisa page or Emmalisa Tilli page. It also keeps you progressing and advancing. I don’t know about you, but having to read personal development books is what keeps me going in life, and self-growth is so important, and having those quotes and/or statements are what makes you endure life. 

3. Write a To-Do List. 

The best thing for productivity is to write a to do list, or even write a plan of the day. That is what I try my best to do almost every day to keep my mind and life on track. 

For example, it may look like this:

  • Finish Assignment 7, question 4
  • Read my book The Mind Gut Connection 
  • Call (family/friend)
  • Appointment/s for the day
  • Work on blog post
  • Type 1000 words for current book project

That is an example of what my day looks like. This is a daily example of mine, and is what I am doing for today, and I create a box, so that it is easier to get tasks done, so that I look at it, and see what has been done and what’s not.

Writing lists creates an efficient and effective day, and I am sure that is the most inspiring thing that everyone wants to do!

4. Eat Healthy

Make sure you are feeling your body and nourishing it with wholesome foods. Too much take away and Uber Eats can actually affect your mood and overall health. I recently started ordering Uber Eats three times a week or more, and I got a blood test and the results were that my cholesterol was way too high at 7.2. To lessen this I started to make a salad with cabbage in as it apparently lowers cholesterol. I highly recommend reading The Mind Gut Connection by Emeran Mayer. I have just started it and it is a brilliant read on how our mental state is affected by our gut health. It is almost like having two brains. The way you fuel and feed your body and gut/stomach affects your main brain in your head. So, once you have started eating healthy it generally lifts up your mood. One thing I find is that smoothies can refresh your body as well. My most top blog post is Sweet Sunday Smoothie

5. Do some calming meditation

I highly recommend this app called “Calm”. It has many sleep stories and is great for the brain when resting. There are other apps you can use for meditation, and you can simply just go onto YouTube and look up tutorials on:

Yoga

Pilates

Daily Mindfulness Meditation

10 minute meditation for anxiety

Things like this really help for those that struggle to keep a balance through out the day. I think its good to switch off technology and social media for 10-20 minutes DAILY if you want to be successful in life. You’re not going to become successful in productivity and/or being your best if you sit on your bum scrolling through Facebook and Instagram all day. Yes, they’re put there as a platform for connection and social connection/social networking/forums, but if you want to be successful you do have to learn to switch off at some point as it gives you rest and helps you refresh the/your mind. So that you can move onto better accomplishments.

6. Post your achievements on social media once you’re done!

I think that this is a FABULOUS idea. When I received my Certificate III in Library and Information Services in the post, I posted it on Facebook and I had so many people saying congratulations, it felt like I really did do something rewarding after I decided to post it on social media! I felt like I had REALLY achieved something great, and it was a good feeling. the process of the course took longer than expected but I pushed through, and the end result was amazing! I really did feel proud of myself and I will be doing this when I have my song on Spotify on the 9th July 2021. When Mood to Party is released I will be posting on Facebook for all my wonderful friends to see!!!!! and I am sure that will give me a proud feeling. If you have completed a short course, diploma or university course, share it. Instagram and Facebook are great platforms for that. and if you have done something like get your L’s or your P’s/drivers license, share it with the world! Be proud and look how far you have come and achieved. 

7. Lastly, Take a walk

I did this just yesterday at Hyde Park in Perth Western Australia, and it was the best feeling. You will notice I stopped by a greenery structured area on my Instagram page, and I decided to wear a summery dress in the middle of winter. I wanted to bring some sunshine into my life!!! It was sunny outside even after it rained, and decided to go to Hyde Park, grab a skinny weak latte and nibble on a jam donut (whilst getting swooped by a duck that stole the rest….). Taking a walk does wonders for your mental health. it brings clarity, focus and stability. Your mind feels so much better when doing so and increases your cardiovascular fitness. and your heart rate which improves your heart health. It assists you with maintaining a healthy weight and lowers any risk of disease. So! Doing this can do so much for your general and overall well being. I highly recommend you take a walk at least once to twice a week if you can and bonus if you can do it three to four times a week! You will be fit and on your way to more happiness if you do! I used to be great at walking especially on the treadmill at the gym, but I must say I haven’t exercised like I should the past few years compared to when I was in my 20’s. 

I hope you find these things helpful and that you enjoyed reading. Please have a look at the list of books to read, and make sure you jot them down for resources and you can highlight and write notes when reading to help further your personal development / self – growth. 

Change and consistency is key. If you don’t change anything in your life you will always become stagnant, and dry. So, try change things up a bit! Take a vacation….. Then do your hard work. and stop procrastinating. You’re not alone in this, as millions of people around the world go through stagnancy, and motivating yourself is knowing yourself. what things keep you on your toes and continue on with creativity, and purpose. 

I am currently writing a christian personal development / self-help/development book in which I have done 14,000 words and I am SO happy that I thought I would share that achievement on the blog! There! That’s ONE way to share!

So I hope you take these seven things and use them for inspiration. And out what inspires you the MOST! and go with it. Start small, and build on that. Don’t forget, inspiration is key for getting rid of a stagnant life, and knowing what inspires you whether its creative or whatever. Do that thing. Figure it out. Write down a plan. a daily planner or a weekly planner/to do list, and you’ll do great!!!

P.S. Someone recently today gave me some great advice and said the following:

“Don’t compare yourself to others, whether it would be lifestyle or personality. We are each unique, and should embrace that.”

Love Emmalisa ❤

One thought on “7 Tips on how to get motivated and feel unstuck & feel your best in 2021

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.